Tuesday, March 9, 2021

Events & News


Children's Literature Award Winners

When you Trap a Tiger

The winners for outstanding works in American Children's Literature for 2020 were announced on January 25, 2021. Check out these great titles for an award-winning read! 

The Newbery Medal honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children, and the winner is When You Trap a Tiger written by Tae Keller. 

The Caldecott Medal honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children, and the winner is We Are Water Protectors illustrated by Michaela Goade. 

The Belpré Medal honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience, and the winner is Efrén Divided, written by Ernesto Cisneros. 

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the most distinguished author or illustrator of beginning reader books, and the winner is See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog written by David LaRochelle. 

The Sibert Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book, and the winner is Honeybee: The Busy Life of Apis Mellifera written by Candace Fleming.  

Every year the Legacy Award recognizes an author or illustrator who has made over the years a substantial and lasting contribution to children's literature. This year the Legacy Award was given to author Mildred D. Taylor whose works include Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry and All the Day Past, All the Days to Come.


Categories: Kids
Rate this article:
No rating